Tropfest Craft Awards returns again in 2016

For the first time since 2012, Tropfest‘s Craft Awards returned, recognising excellence in six vital fields. The award ceremony took place at the Australian Design Center on Friday 12 February 2016, ahead of the main Tropfest event this Valentine’s Day, Sunday 14 February.

These awards recognise finalist filmmakers that excel in the fields of cinematography, editing, scoring, screenwriting, VFX and sound design.

Guests joined John Polson,  the founder and director of Tropfest, and the 16 Tropfest finalists over drinks and pizza to announce the prizes and celebrate all the hard work that’s gone into creating their films.

The winners are: Viv Scanu Acs for cinematography; Josh Grom for editing; Andy Scott for scoring; Nick Baker for screenwriting; Daniel ‘Cloud’ Campos & Spencer Susser VFX and Derek Vanderhorst for sound design.

Not surprisingly, the winner of Tropfest  Daniel ‘Cloud’ Campos & Spencer Susser, also picked up an award for VFX on the night.